Friday, May 30, 2008

Alanis Morissette: Flavors Of Entanglement

The seventh studio album from Alanis Morissette may have taken 4 years to manifest itself but I must say that it was truly worth the wait. The album is a masterfully written and performed collection of electro pop/rock songs which is being described (by the fans who have already heard it in it's entirety) as her best work since her 1998 release "Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie" and in some regards as her best work ever.

I personally have been describing the album as a combination of the very best elements of Jagged Little Pill, Supposed, and So Called Chaos. It has the hard edged rock sensibilities of Jagged, the reflective softness of Supposed, and the radio-friendly popiness of SCC all blended together with incredibly rich electro beats reminiscent of Bjork's earlier works (think Post and Homogenic) courtesy of producer Guy Sigworth. Alanis herself describes the album as "techno-sounding but organic."

The tracklisting for the album is as follows,

1) Citizen Of The Planet
2) Underneath (first single)
3) Straitjacket
4) Versions Of Violence
5) Not As We
6) In Praise Of The Vulnerable Man
7) Moratorium
8) Torch
9) Giggling Again For No Reason
10) Tapes
11) Incomplete

Deluxe Version Bonus Songs:

1) Orchid
2) The Guy Who Leaves
3) Madness
4) Limbo No More
5) On The Tequila

Flavors Of Entanglement will be officially released on June 10th.

No comments: