Friday, May 30, 2008

Alanis Morissette: Flavors Of Entanglement

The seventh studio album from Alanis Morissette may have taken 4 years to manifest itself but I must say that it was truly worth the wait. The album is a masterfully written and performed collection of electro pop/rock songs which is being described (by the fans who have already heard it in it's entirety) as her best work since her 1998 release "Supposed Former Infatuation Junkie" and in some regards as her best work ever.

I personally have been describing the album as a combination of the very best elements of Jagged Little Pill, Supposed, and So Called Chaos. It has the hard edged rock sensibilities of Jagged, the reflective softness of Supposed, and the radio-friendly popiness of SCC all blended together with incredibly rich electro beats reminiscent of Bjork's earlier works (think Post and Homogenic) courtesy of producer Guy Sigworth. Alanis herself describes the album as "techno-sounding but organic."

The tracklisting for the album is as follows,

1) Citizen Of The Planet
2) Underneath (first single)
3) Straitjacket
4) Versions Of Violence
5) Not As We
6) In Praise Of The Vulnerable Man
7) Moratorium
8) Torch
9) Giggling Again For No Reason
10) Tapes
11) Incomplete

Deluxe Version Bonus Songs:

1) Orchid
2) The Guy Who Leaves
3) Madness
4) Limbo No More
5) On The Tequila

Flavors Of Entanglement will be officially released on June 10th.

Michelle Williams: Unexpected

The Divine Michelle Williams will be releasing her third solo album entitled Unexpected later this summer. I have been trying to add the hot new video for her first single "We Break The Dawn" all afternoon but everytime I do I keep getting a failed post message from youtube (assholes lol).

Michelle's last two albums (2002's Heart To Yours and 2004's Do You Know) which were primarily gospel music records did little if anything to establish her as a solo artist like her Destiny's Child counterparts, which is a shame because I always considered her to have the most unique (and therefore best) voice of the the group.

Lately she has found some success in the world of musical theatre. She replaced fellow R&B artist Toni Braxton in the title role of Elton John and Tim Rice's "Aida" on Broadway, and was most recently featured in the role of Shug Avery as part of the touring cast of the musical version of "The Color Purple".

Hopefully with her new Pop/R&B sound and Destiny's Child "Lose My Breath strut" in fine form (see the video) , she will finally begin to turn heads on the billboard charts as a solo artist.

The tracklisting for Unexpected is as follows.

1) Unexpected Intro
2) Hello Heartbreak
3) We Break The Dawn
4) Lucky Girl
5) The Greatest
6) 'Til The End Of The World
7) Private Party
8) Hungover
9) Stop This Car (rumored second single)
10) Unexpected
11) Thank You
12) Too Young For Love

The album will be released August 12th. I'll keep trying to add the video but for now you have the link.

Out Now: Sex And The City The Movie

Get the girls together, put your Manolo Blahnik's on and order up a cosmopolitan because our favorite Girl Gang is back via the silver screen.

The Sex and the City Movie is out in theatres today!!!!!!!!!!

Monday, May 19, 2008

Jay Brannan: Housewife Official Video

Okay, so I think I'm going to turn this blog into a shrine for Jay Brannan because I can't seem to stop talking about him lol. Here is the official music video for Jay's first single "Housewife from his first full length album (mentioned below)out July 15th in stores.

The one take video starts with a nod to Jay's beginnings as a music artist through his youtube video recordings with him in an apartment with his guitar performing to the camera. As he plays on the background changes showing a suburban existence reflected in the lyrics of the song and then back to the empty apartment.

Great stuff.

Thursday, May 15, 2008

New Album: Jay Brannan - Goddamned

Yay! I'm sure you've all had your fill of me writing about the sublime Jay Brannan on this blog but I haven't posted in a month (and I'm sure nobody even checks this site anymore but me) so I'm going to mention some very exciting news.

Jay is finally releasing his first official "made in studio, sold in stores" album entitled "Goddamned". Jay has been touring and recording tirelessly and I know the album is going to be perfection. Plus the thought of me having a studio produced version of the song Goddamned is so thrilling. The album which was recorded at the Village Recording Studio's in LA will be released via Jay's record label "Great Depression Records" with the first single being the song Housewife for which Jay will soon be shooting a video for.

The track listing for the album is as follows,

1) Can't Have It All
2) Half-Boyfriend
3) American Idol
4) Death Waltz
5) At First Sight
6) Housewife
7) Goddamned
8) Home
9) Bowlegged & Starving
10) On All Fours
11) String-A-Long Song

Goddamned will be released July 1st through I-tunes and in stores on July 15th. To hear the album version of Housewife visit Jay's Myspace Page.